When people think about property crimes, they always think about robbery or vandalism. If you ever be accused or the police arrests you because of property crime or theft, the best thing to do is speak with one criminal defense attorney about your theft case. The sooner you do, the better for your case.
In Texas state, there is a possibility of you to be charged with felony theft. In the state, the theft charges that you will face will be related to the goods value they are accusing you of stealing. You can also commit larceny when you take stolen property from someone. Generally, stealing goods or services that are worth $2,500 or more, will make you face the Texas law with a felony theft charge. These are thresholds after they were updated sometimes back.
Theft Offenses & Texas Law
Texas Law: Offenses Against Property
When accused, charged and found guilty, there are different sentencing an individual can face depending on the classification of the theft in Texas.
Class C Misdemeanor Theft
If Peek was found guilty for stealing goods or even services and they are less than $100, he will fall into this category. It is the least serious in Texas law. The punishment that he will receive should be less than $500 and doesn’t involve any jail term.
Class B Misdemeanor Theft
In this class, is where the defendant is accused of goods or services that were stolen and they are ranging $100 to $750. Besides, identification card or driver’s license theft is also included in this class. The punishment an individual should get is a jail term of fewer than 180 days or a fine less than $2,000.
Class A Misdemeanor Theft
When Peek is accused to have robbed property worth $750 up to $2,500, he could face a one year term or a fine not exceeding $4,000. If the goods or services he stole are at least $2,500, Peek will get charged with felony theft.
State Jail Felony
Assuming Peek stole goods or services ranging $2,500 and $30,000, the theft will be considered as a state jail felony. Specific property like livestock or guns with a value of $20,00 and below will also be in this category.
If you become charged under state jail felony, you will receive a jail term from 180 days up to 2 years and then receive $10,000 fine.
Third Degree Felony Theft
When an individual steals and charged for property worth $30,000 but not more than $150,000, the crime will fall under this category. For livestock under $100,000, the charges are also on this category.
In Texas state, you will be charged with two years to 10 years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine will fall on you.
Second Degree Felony Theft
Here, an individual will face a lengthy jail term. This term happens when the goods or services that were stolen are worth $150,00 and under $300,000. In Texas, such criminal is given up to 20 years in prison with a minimum of 2 years. An individual can also face a fine of $10,000.
First Degree Felony Theft
When the value of the stolen goods or services exceeds $300, 000, then the defendant will face a severe theft felony. According to statute books in Texas, the individual meets the first-degree felony with a jail term of 5 years to 99 years followed by a $10,000 fine.
Crime should not be taken lightly in Texas despite Texas law requiring a fair charge with a felony. When an individual is arrested even after an aggravated robbery, he/she seeks an attorney, and that’s why they are paid to represent the accused in court. It’s an attorney that will understand the property crime and the complexity of the theft case. They will advise and serve their clients in the field of law, and always ready to help.